Campus News


Back to News Features
<< Return to News Features

Dr. Nora Hutto Appointed as Dean of the School of Education
Dr. Nora Hutto has been named the Dean of the School of Education by the University of St. Thomas and will begin her appointment on July 1.

She is replacing Dean Robert LeBlanc who served as dean of the School of Education from 2008 to the present and is returning to full-time teaching. She comes to UST from the University of Houston-Victoria where has served as professor, program coordinator and chair of the Division of Education. She is highly accomplished and well-known as an outstanding leader in K-12 and university education.

Hutto received a Bachelor of Arts in Home Economics Education with an Emphasis in Child Development from New Mexico State University, a Master of Science in Family Relations and Sociology from Texas Tech University, and doctorate in Administration of Higher Education from Texas Tech University. She has received numerous professional awards including the Enron Teaching Excellence Award for 1999-2000 Teacher of the Year at the University of Houston-Victoria, Who’s Who in Education in 1996 and the National Exemplary Project Award for Collaborative Staff Development in Rural, Small schools from the U.S. Office of Education in 1990.

"I look forward to the opportunities that UST offers to me and the Houston community," Hutto said. "With the faculty and staff we will continue to deliver outstanding programs and degrees that are recognized aournd the world."

The UST School of Education offers a comprehensive teacher preparation program that provides relevant, field-based experience for the development of quality teachers and school leaders. Undergraduate specializations in general and bilingual education with certification in elementary (early childhood-grade 4), middle school (grades 4-8 with a concentration in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies) and secondary education (grades 8-12) are available. Graduate Master of Education specializations may include, but are not limited to, professional school counseling, educational diagnostician, principalship and reading specialist, and may be earned on campus, off campus or through an online program.

<< Return

<< Return to News Features