Campus News


Back to News Features
<< Return to News Features

HOSA Qualifies for 2011 National Competition
The UST Chapter of Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA) participated in the State Leadership Competition in Corpus Christi from April 13-16. The group, advised by Dr. Ly Phan and Dr. Elmer Ledesma, will advance to the HOSA National Leadership Conference held in June in Anaheim, Calif.

"The State Leadership Competition allows UST students to compete against other HOSA college chapters in Texas. In addition, scholarship opportunities are available to students," said Tam Nguyen. "The State Leadership Conference is a good opportunity for UST HOSA members to promote the University of St. Thomas. Over the past two years, we have noticed a high influx of high school HOSA students coming into the University because they learned about us at the state competition."

The following students placed at the state competition: Hung Vu, medical terminology 1st place; Tram Nguyen, nutrition 1st place; Thuy-Linh Nguyen, dental spelling 1st place; Andy Nguyen, medical math 1st place; Ashby Iype, epidemiology 1st place; Jacqueline Vu, dental terminology 1st place; Sally Acebo, Extemporaneous Health Poster 2nd place; Adeel Faruki, extemporaneous speaking 2nd place; Rosemary Tran, medical spelling 2nd place; Maria Sheikh, AJ Yap, Amy Tran, and Rabeea Lodhra, HOSA Bowl Team 2nd place; Tam Nguyen, pharmacology 3rd place; Shiva Kheradmand, Miguel Quirch, Anthony Pham and Eileell Nguyen, creative problem solving 3rd place; Maryem Lodhra, pathophysiology 4th place.

The Kaiser Healthcare Issues Exam Finalists were Ahmed Alrawi, Joyce Chuen, Minh Hong, Ashby Iype, Jisha Jose, Rabeea Lodhra, Eileell Nguyen, Tam Nguyen, Thuy-Linh Nguyen, Tram Nguyen, Maria Sheikh, and Amy Tran.

Scholarships were earned by: Ashby Iype , $1,500 Texas HOSA State Scholarship; Tam Nguyen, $2,000 Karen Batchelor Outstanding State Officer Scholarship - $2000.

Minh Hong was elected as the Texas HOSA State Post–Secondary/Collegiate Vice President and member of the board of directors.

<< Return

<< Return to News Features