500X330_FacultyExcellence_IntroExcellence in teaching is at the heart of our mission at the University of St. Thomas.

Each year, the University of St. Thomas honors outstanding faculty who exemplify extraordinary dedication and excellence in the areas of teaching, scholarship, and service with the Saint Thomas Aquinas Excellence in Teaching Award, the Saint Edith Stein Excellence in Research Award, the Joseph M. McFadden Excellence in Service Award, and the Teach Online Awards to Spur Transformation (TOAST).

We proudly recognize and celebrate our faculty’s achievements!

Award Descriptions

The Saint Thomas Aquinas Excellence in Teaching Award was established to recognize a faculty member who exemplifies UST’s commitment to teaching excellence. Its recipient represents the highest standards of dedication to teaching and learning. 

The Saint Edith Stein Excellence in Research Award honors a faculty member for outstanding scholarship. We are proud of our faculty authors who are advancing their fields through research and writing.

The Joseph M. McFadden Excellence in Service Award is named after the sixth present of the University of St. Thomas (1988-1997) and professor emeritus of History. The award recognizes outstanding faculty service to the University community and abroad.

The TOAST Award (Teach Online Awards to Spur Transformation) was created in 2021 to recognize the excellence and leadership of outstanding faculty in online education. Recipients of the annual TOAST Awards, selected by the Teach Online team, are recognized in an online toast ceremony of at the end of each academic year.

2021 Toast Award Recipients

The Faculty Awards Committee of the Faculty Senate wishes to congratulate our Nominees and to thank everyone who put forward a nomination.

By School/Department


Cameron School of Business

Mario Enzler

David Schein

Rambod Dargahi

Yiying Cheng

Beverly Barrett

Joe Chieh-Chung Ueng

Richard Sindelar


School of Education and Human Services

Ana-Lisa Gonzalez

Anne Gichuri-Echessa

Antonio Corrales

Babette Eikenberg

Catherine Barber

Eduardo Torres

Juan O. Cooper

Nicole Walters

Patrick Huff

Randy Soffer

Richard Krustchinsky

Theresa Campos

Thompson Falla

Tera Torres


Carol & Odis Peavy School of Nursing

Claudine Dufrene

Corazon Lauren DeLumpa

Karen O’Brien

Kristina Leyden

Mary Anne Vincent

Yvette Rolle


Kolbe School of Innovation and Professional Studies

Doni Wilson


School of Arts and Sciences


Adnan Imam

Don Frohlich

Shivas Amin



John Palasota

Richa Chandra



Livia Bornigia



Michael Morrison



Clinton Allen Brand

Janet Lowery



Dominic Aquila


International Studies

Hans Stockton

Richard Sindelar


Irish Studies

Lori Gallagher


John Paul II Institute

John Hittinger


Liberal Arts

Thomas Behr


Mathematics/Computer Science

Carlos Monroy



Brady Knapp

Michael Richardson



David Squires

Samuel Condic



James Clarage

Susan Fontanilla


Political Science

Chris Wolfe

Mayra Addison



Carl Scott

Crystal Tran

Jo Anne Meier-Marquis



Andrew J. Hayes

Dempsey Rosales Acosta

Elizabeth Kimes

Jon Kirwan

Sr. Albert Marie Surmanski

Andrew Hayes

Crystal Collier

David Schein

Jean Kiekel

Yao-Yuan Yeh

Beverly Barrett

Brandon Green

Grant Sasse

Javoris Hollingsworth

Jo Meier-Marquis

Kristina Leyden

Nicole Landry

Vinita Ramaswamy

*Eligibility Requirements: Any full-time faculty member of the University of St. Thomas who has not received the specific award in the past three years is eligible to be considered for the award. The selection process begins with nominations solicited in early Spring, followed by the submission of Nominee Portfolios. The Faculty Awards Committee reviews these portfolios and selects a candidate for each award, whose candidacy is submitted for approval by the Vice President of Academic Affairs. The awards are presented on the Opening Day of the academic year, and the recipient receives a commemorative plague and a $500 stipend.

Stay tuned for the announcement of the Teaching, Research, and Service Awards recipients on Opening Day in August!

Past Award Recipients
Faculty Spotlights

Showcasing our faculty excellence with stories from UST Communications (2019 – 2021)