Dr. Richa Chandra Dr. Richa Chandra Associate Professor; Cullen Trust for Higher Education/Dolores Welder Mitchell Chair in Chemistry


  • Doctor of Philosophy - Chemistry - Texas A&M University


  • Studies of Plasma Lipoproteins through Bioanalytical and Biochemical Methods (2014)
  • Cardiovascular Chemistry (2014)


  • "Novel Tripod Amphiphiles for Membrane Protein Analysis"
    Chemistry, A European Journal
    Pages 15645-15651 Co-Authored with Brian Kobilka, Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2012
    Wiley-VCH (2013) Vol. 19
  • "Maltose-neopentyl glycol (MNG) amphiphiles for solubilization, stabilization and crystallization of membrane proteins"
    Nature Methods
    Co-Authored with Brian Kobilka, Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2012
    Macmillan Publishers Limited (2010) Vol. 7 Page 1003-1008
  • "Hypertriglyceridemia and megacystis-microcolon-intestinal hypoperistalsis syndrome"
    Journal of Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition
    Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (2008) Vol. 47 Page 507-513
  • "Remnant Lipoprotein Profiling by CsBiEDTA Density Gradient Ultracentrifugation"
    Analytical Chemistry
    American Chemical Society (2006) Vol. 78 Page 680-685


  • "Cardiovascular Chemistry" (2014)
    2014 Project Seed Research/Technology Forum
    Presentation by Project SEED High School Students mentored by Dr. Chandra
  • "Susceptibility and analysis of triglyceride rich lipoproteins in human blood to chemical oxidative stress" (2013)
    245th ACS National Meeting & Exposition
  • "Cardiovascular Chemistry: Oxidation of Triglyceride Rich Lipoproteins in Human Blood and The Role of Natural Product Antioxidants" (2012)
    Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Southwestern University
  • "Accessible New Amphiphiles for Solubilization, Stabilization and Crystallization of Membrane Proteins" (2011)
    Welch Summer Scholars Program and the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Southwestern Univers
Faculty Excellence

Excellence in teaching is at the heart of our mission at the University of St. Thomas.

Each year, the University of St. Thomas honors outstanding faculty who exemplify extraordinary dedication and excellence in the areas of teaching, scholarship, and service with the Saint Thomas Aquinas Excellence in Teaching Award, the Saint Edith Stein Excellence in Research Award, the Joseph M. McFadden Excellence in Service Award, and the Teach Online Awards to Spur Transformation (TOAST).

We proudly recognize and celebrate our faculty’s achievements!

learn more about the Faculty Excellence